Department of Mathematics, Linköping University

October 14-16 2004

Invited speakers (all confirmed):

  • Michael Crandall, Santa Barbara
  • Lawrence Craig Evans, Berkeley
  • Petri Juutinen, Jyväskylä
  • Bernd Kawohl, Köln
  • Peter Lindqvist, Trondheim
  • Juan Manfredi, Pittsburgh
  • Giorgio Talenti, Firenze
  • Ovidiu Savin, Berkeley

The Conference

  • There will be talks on October 14, 15 and 16. A detailed program can be found here. Abstracts will soon be available at this site.
  • Some relevant topics for the conference are, for instance,
    • questions of regularity for p-Laplace and for infinity-Laplace equation
    • absolutely minimizing functions (AMLE), role of viscosity solutions
    • special situation in two dimensions; some relation to complex analysis
    • eigenvalue problems for infinity Laplace
    • structure of AMLE functions and other open problems; singular solutions
    • obstacle problems for p-Laplace
    • comparison principles
    • excursion into more general metric spaces
    • quasi-regular mappings
    • numerical experiments
    • AMLE and image interpolation
    There is still room for a few more speakers. If you are interested, you may suggest a title on the registration form (see below).
  • A very informal "pre-conference party" will be arranged on October 13, 5 p.m. in common room, house B, entrance 25, 2nd floor. All participants of the conference are welcome.
  • All talks on Thursday and Friday will be held in the lecture hall Nobel (BL32). On Saturday the talks will be held at Valla folkhögskola.
  • Registration starts Thursday at 8.15 a.m. outside Nobel.

Participation, fees and registration

  • The conference is open to all interested mathematicians
  • Participation is free of charge iff a completed registration form is submitted by September 12.
  • If registration is made after September 12 a fee of 1000 SEK will be charged.
  • A few grants for covering travel and accommodation expenses are available for graduate students from the nordic countries. Applications should be sent to Gunnar Aronsson.
  • Participants will have to arrange their own hotel booking; see the links below.
  • Registration form.
  • Information: Carina Appelskog Phone: +46 (0)13 281425 (8-12 AM), E-mail:


Scientific committée:

  • Gunnar Aronsson, Linköping
  • Peter Lindqvist, Trondheim
  • Petri Juutinen, Jyväskylä


Organizing committée:

  • Gunnar Aronsson
  • Brian Edgar
  • Ulf Janfalk
  • Bengt Ove Turesson
  • Carina Appelskog


Our sponsors:

Wenner-Gren Stiftelserna
         Knut och Alice Wallenbergs jubileumsfond

Senast uppdaterad: 2019-12-03